5 Schools in Arizona Recognized with National Blue Ribbon Award

By on September 29, 2020 0 1084Views

Five Arizona schools were given National Blue Ribbon School honors Thursday by the U.S. Department of Education.

“The coveted blue-ribbon award affirms the hard work of educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content,” the Department of Education stated in a press release.

Arizona’s 2020 school winners were Horseshoe Trails Elementary School (Cave Creek Unified District), Lookout Mountain School (Washington Elementary School District), Mexicayotl Charter School (Mexicayotl Academy, Inc.), Phoenix Union Bioscience H.S. (Phoenix Union H.S. District) and Pima Butte Elementary School (Maricopa Unified School District).

Over 9,000 schools have been recognized over the course of the program’s 38-year history.

Based on student testing scores and graduation rates, schools across the country receive the award for one of two different categories: Exemplary High Performing Schools and Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools.

Up to 420 schools are nominated each year by top education officials around the U.S. This year’s winners have been invited to a virtual awards ceremony and celebration to be held in November.

“Congratulations to this year’s National Blue Ribbon School awardees,” U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos said. “It’s a privilege to recognize the extraordinary work you do to meet students’ needs and prepare them for successful careers and meaningful lives.”

Click here to learn more about the program.