• Home
  • The People
  • Mickleson, Ethier Among Members of Arizona Sports Hall of Fame’s 50th Induction Class

Mickleson, Ethier Among Members of Arizona Sports Hall of Fame’s 50th Induction Class

By on September 9, 2020 0 499Views

Golf star Phil Mickelson, who recently turned 50, is among seven members of the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame’s 50th induction class.

Other 2020 inductees, announced Wednesday by the Arizona Sports & Entertainment Commission, are Andre Ethier, Ann Meyers Drysdale, Joe Caldwell, Paul Westphal, Roland Hemond and John Bridger.

Bridger, former executive director of the Phoenix Thunderbirds, was chosen by public vote. Others were selected by the Hall of Fame trustees.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on April 23 at the Phoenician Resort.

Mickelson, Ethier and Caldwell all come to the Hall of Fame with Arizona State credentials preceding their professional careers. Westphal and Meyers Drysdale are tied through the Phoenix Suns. Hemond was a long-time executive with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Westphal, 69, recently was diagnosed with glioblastoma, a form of brain cancer.

There were 40 Hall of Fame nominees on the 2020 ballot. Hall of Fame eligibility requires meeting at least one of three criteria: a native of Arizona; immediately recognized as an Arizonan; at least two significant contributions to athletics in Arizona.

The Hall of Fame was founded in 1957 by the Phoenix Press Box Association and now is owned and managed by the Arizona Sports and Entertainment Commission.

2020 Arizona Hall of Fame inductees

John Bridger: Executive director of the Phoenix Thunderbirds and Waste Management Phoenix Open for 18 years through the 2020 tournament … under his leadership, the Thunderbirds raised millions of dollars for Arizona charities. 




Joe Caldwell: Averaged 18.2 points and 11.2 rebounds during his three-year ASU career, playing on NCAA Tournament teams from 1962-64 … played on the 1964 U.S. gold medal Olympic team … No. 2 overall pick in 1964 NBA draft … played in the NBA from 1964-70 and ABA from 1970-75 … two-time NBA All-Star, two-time ABA All-Star … 1975 ASU Athletic Hall of Fame inductee, 2005 Pac-10 Hall of Honor inductee.


Andre Ethier: Arizona native who played baseball at Phoenix St. Mary’s High School, Chandler-Gilbert Community College and ASU … selected in the second round of the 2003 major league draft by Oakland, traded to Los Angeles and played his entire MLB career (2006-17) with the Dodgers … two-time All-Star … 2014 ASU Athletic Hall of Fame inductee.


Roland Hemond: Three-time MLB Executive of the Year … was Arizona Diamondbacks senior executive vice president from 1996-2000 and returned in 2007 as special assistant to the President/CEO … 70 years of professional baseball experience … architect of the Arizona Fall League … 2019 Cactus League Hall of Fame inductee … four annual baseball awards are named in his honor.


Ann Meyers Drysdale: Phoenix Suns/Mercury vice president and TV analyst for both teams … Mercury general manager from 2007-11 and with the organization for all three of its WNBA titles … 1993 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, 1999 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductee … the first woman inducted into the UCLA Sports Hall of Fame … signed as a free agent by the NBA Indiana Pacers in 1979 … five-time Olympic basketball analyst.

Phil Mickelson: Won three NCAA individual championships — second to do so — and helped ASU to a team title from 1989-92 … was four-time All-America first team … five-time champion in professional major tournaments including three Masters titles … 44 PGA career wins (nine most all-time) … 2002 ASU Athletic Hall of Fame inductee.


Paul Westphal: Played half of his 12-year NBA career with the Phoenix Suns including on the 1975-76 NBA Finals team … All-NBA for four consecutive seasons (1976-80), five All-Star Game appearances … Suns assistant coach from 1988-92 and head coach from 1992-95 including the 1992-93 NBA Finals team … compiled a 191-88 record as the Suns head coach … Grand Canyon coach from 1986-88, winning NAIA national title in 1988.


Click here to learn more.