Four Seniors In Metro Phoenix Named 2019 US Presidential Scholars

By on May 13, 2019 0 1037Views

Across the U.S. this year, more than 3.6 million students are expected to graduate from high school.

On Tuesday, 161 members of the group were named to the prestigious list of 2019 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Four of those elite students are from metro Phoenix: Adrian Henry Kwiatkowski of Red Mountain High School in Mesa, Phoenix resident Saaketh Ram-Rachakonda Narayan of BASIS Scottsdale, Ruth Nyagaka of Williams Field High School in Gilbert and Amy Zhou of Scottsdale Preparatory Academy.

When looking at the 2019 list, at least one male and one female student from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico were selected. In addition, there are 15 at-large scholars nationwide, 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education.

The list of career and technical education scholars included Kwiatkowski and Nyagaka.

During a June 23 ceremony at the White House, all winners will be honored and presented with Presidential Scholars medallions.

“I have no doubt that many of tomorrow’s leaders are among this year’s class of scholars,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

The Presidential Scholars program was created in 1964.

Winners are selected by a federal commission on the basis of performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams or nominations by Chief State School Officers or other recognized organizations.